bonniegrrl: (headache)
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20050720/ap_on_re_us/denver_dog_ban

DENVER - A few weeks ago, two police cars and two animal control vehicles pulled up at the home of Stef'ny Steffan looking for her beloved 4-year-old pit bull, Xena. Seven officers hauled the animal off to the city shelter, putting her on death row. Xena became an outlaw after Denver won a court fight and reinstated one of the toughest pit-bull bans in the nation.

Since May, more than 380 dogs have been impounded and at least 260 destroyed — an average of more than three a day.

Read more... )
bonniegrrl: (Kick)


In response to the insane anti-pitbull dog legislation that the Calif. Senate is trying to pass on July 5, I felt I should stand up and write a letter to any of the politicians that would listen.

If you feel like writing your own letter explaining why you are opposed to SB 861
this weekend -- (The vote happens on July 5) --
then please write one letter and email it to the following:

Contact the bill sponsor and voice your opposition to SB 861.
Ask her to withdraw the bill from consideration.


The Honorable Jackie Speier
Phone: 916-651-4008, Fax 916-327-2186
Senator.Speier@sen.ca.gov

And then send your letter to the following people who will be
voting on the bill July 5 here:


The Honorable Simon Salinas (D) [Chair]
Phone:916-319-2028, Fax 916-319-2128
Email: Assemblymember.Salinas@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Bill Emmerson (R) [Vice-Chair]
Phone: 916-319-2063, Fax 916-319-2163
Email: Assemblymember.Emmerson@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Hector De La Torre (D)
Phone: 916-319-2050, Fax 916-319-2150
Email: Assemblymember.DeLaTorre@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Guy S. Houston (R)
Phone: 916-319-2015, Fax 916-319-2115
Email: Assemblymember.Houston@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Sally Leiber (D)
Phone: 916-319-2022, Fax 916-319-2122
Email: Assemblymember.Leiber@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Joe Nation (D)
Phone: 916-319-2006, Fax 916-319-2106
Email: Assemblymember.Nation@assembly.ca.gov

The Honorable Lois Wolk (D)
Phone: 916-319-2008, Fax 916-319-2108
Email: Assemblymember.Wolk@assembly.ca.gov

As well as the nearest politician who represents you
(searches by your zip code.)


And don't forget to CC San Francisco Mayor Gavin Newsom here:
gavin.newsom@sfgov.org

Thanks!
Read more... )

Profile

bonniegrrl: (Default)
bonniegrrl

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 21st, 2017 04:57 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios